Amazing Chase 2019 

Amazing Chase




In the 3rd annual running of the Amazing Chase we'll see an action-packed event with greyhound racing at its finest. 

Each of the eight Amazing Chase runners that have previously qualified at Addington, Manukau or Hatrick Raceway, will get a chance to compete for the prestigious Amazing Chase title won in 2018 by 'Bigtime Paddy'. 

The Amazing Chase will feature four matches with two greyhounds per match. The greyhound with the fastest time from all four matches will be named the winner.
Attend the event: This year's event is hosted at Addington Raceway where you can get amongst the action with an all-inclusive hospitality ticket. Tickets will go on sale soon at 

For charity: The Amazing Chase 2019 is supporting Kidscan Charity with all proceeds from the greyhound race entries and a portion of the hospitality sales to benefit the Charity.


To be run at the Host venue Addington Raceway on Sunday 28 July 2019 over 520m.

Race conditions:

The Amazing Chase is an Invitation race:

  • The Amazing Chase shall be open to all greyhounds graded C1 and above who are registered to race in New Zealand at Noon on Wednesday 19 June 2019.
  • Entries will close with Greyhound Racing New Zealand (GRNZ) at Noon on Wednesday June 19 2019.
  • A donation of $200 in respect of each greyhound entered is payable BEFORE the closing date (being Noon on Wednesday 19 June 2019). This donation will go towards the charity selected by GRNZ.
  • The donation must be accompanied by the prescribed entry form, which can be located at
  • The entry form can be emailed to and the donation paid to GRNZ with payment referenced as “Amazing” and Trainer’s name.
  • No late entry shall be accepted in any circumstances.
  • An entry may be withdrawn prior to the closing date, and in these circumstances, shall be entitled to a full refund of the $200.
  • Withdrawals on and after the closing date shall not be entitled to a refund of the donation under any circumstances.
  • Any withdrawals must be advised directly to GRNZ Racing operations team, not the club.
  • There is no limit to the number of greyhounds who can be entered as long as each entry is accompanied by the $200 donation.
  • The donation entitles each greyhound to one solo trial for Amazing Chase qualification purposes at any of the three venues (Addington 520m, Manukau 527m or Hatrick 520m).
  • If the greyhound qualifies as one of the ‘quickest two’ for the Final at more than one track it shall be considered as an entry from its track located in the Region in which it is normally domiciled. In which case the next highest quickest qualifier at the other track will gain selection.

The solo trials shall be conducted in accordance with the following conditions from Thursday 20 June 2019 until and including Sunday 21 July 2019.

  • Notification must be given to the relevant Club at least 48 hours in advance of the solo trial.
  • Solo trials can only be undertakven on a raceday and must start from Box 1.
  • All solo trials must be conducted BEFORE the race meeting at each venue.
  • If the Club is forced to cancel the trial for any reason, the qualifying solo trial may be rescheduled.
  • If after scheduling their solo trial the trainer withdraws the greyhound there will be no penalty, but the trainer will not be able to reschedule the trial.
  • When assessing the quickest qualifiers at each of the three venues, all race times during the qualifying period (including placings) will be considered, in addition to any solo trial times referred to above.
  • All qualifying times (both race and trial) will be electronically timed. In the event of any timing system malfunctions or disputes, Formpro will be referred to, and their decision on times will be final.
  • Greyhounds solo trialing will be identified and undergo normal raceday veterinary checks and may be subject to being swabbed.

Final field will be:

The final field shall comprise the eight (8) fastest greyhounds entered, based on race times recorded at Manukau Stadium, Addington Raceway, and Hatrick Raceway, and/or solo trial times recorded at the same venues from 20/06/2019 to and including 21/07/2019 (the qualifying period).

In particular, the final field shall comprise the following:

  • The quickest two (2) entered greyhounds at each of Manukau, Addington, and Hatrick;
  • The third quickest qualifier at the Host Venue, Addington;
  • The greyhound drawn by ballot under stipendiary steward supervision from the third quickest qualifiers from Manukau and Hatrick.
  • Two reserves, which shall be the loser of the ballot draw referred to above and also the fourth quickest qualifier from the Host Venue.
  • In the event of any identical times at each of the three venues, a ballot shall be conducted where necessary
  • The final field will be declared following the final trial/race sessions on Sunday 21 July 2019
  • A manual box draw for the final will be conducted on Facebook Live Monday 22 July 2019 under RIU supervision.
  • If there are more than two scratchings from the final field, then any remaining greyhound in a match race will be required to race solo against the clock.
  • GRNZ will make the final decision if any race conditions need to be changed.

The Amazing Chase

The race will comprise four (4) match races, with two greyhounds per match race.

Match races will run as per the Box Draw; i.e. 1 vs 2, 3 vs 4, 5 vs 6, 7 vs 8.

Greyhounds will jump from Box 1 or Box 3 (odd numbered greyhounds from Box 1 and even numbered greyhounds from Box 3).

In the event of a scratching(s), the reserve runner(s) shall take the place of the scratched greyhound(s).

The winner of each match race shall receive $3,000, and the loser of each match race shall receive $1,000.

The overall winner shall receive an additional $24,750, the overall second place-getter shall receive an additional $10,340, the overall third place-getter shall receive an additional $6,270, and the overall fourth place-getter shall receive an additional $2,640.

The overall winner of the race will be the greyhound with the fastest official time, with overall placings decided in ascending time order.

In the case of any equipment malfunction during the match races the match race impacted on will be abandoned and the two greyhounds will split the match race prize receiving $2,000 each.

GRNZ will reserve the right to not proceed with the Amazing Chase if nominations do not reach 20.

The race will be penalty free.

Oversight committee (race complaints, anomalies, queries, verification of final field etc.)
Greg Kerr (Chair), Robert Death, Tony Music, Venessa Trass, RIU Stipendiary Steward.

Download Amazing Chase Terms and Conditions as a PDF here.
Download the Amazing Chase Entry Form 2019 here.