New Zealand Greyhound Of The Year Contenders

It was a stellar year of high-quality greyhound racing throughout the 2018/19 racing season with numerous high-quality performances sighted on the nation’s tracks month in and month out. Those outstanding efforts has been reflected by the unprecedented choice of five finalists being named for greyhound racing’s ultimate award – the 2018/19 New Zealand Greyhound of the Year title.


Pictured: Which greyhounds’ name will be inscribed onto the NZ Greyhound of the Year trophy as the 2018/19 New Zealand Greyhound of the Year?


Here’s a fact-based look at those five contenders (in alphabetical order) with the credentials that earned them their finalist positions. All will be revealed in Wellington this Saturday evening with the naming of the 2018/19 New Zealand Greyhound of the Year winner.



Owned by Brady, Patrickson, Szybiak Syndicate & J Dogs Syndicate - Trained by: Angela Turnwald


40 races – 13 wins, 6 2nds, 4 3rds                  $111,959

Group 1: 1st NZ St Leger; 1st Auckland Cup; 2nd Spion Rose Cup; 3rd New Zealand Futurity

Regional features: 1st Supporting the City of Palmerston North



Diddilee seen here winning his NZ St Leger title (pic Dave Robbie) and with his NZ St Leger trophy; Diddilee following his Auckland Cup victory


Dyna Weslyn

Owned by Brendan Wheeler – Trained by Craig Roberts


26 races – 14 wins, 7 2nds, 0 3rds                  $127,976

Group 1: 1st Duke Of Edinburgh Silver Collar; 1st NZ Stayers Cup; 2nd Wanganui Distance;

Group 2: 1st Kingston Cup; 1st Theresa McDonald Memorial Cup

Track record: Addington 645m 37.68 (since broken); Addington 732m 42.65s  

Winner NZ Stayer of the Year (on points)



Dyna Weslyn winning the NZ Stayers Cup (pic Dave Robbie) and with her NZ Stayers Cup trophy; proudly wearing the Duke Of Edinburgh Silver Collar


Nature’s Gent

Owned by The Bookie & Us Syndicate – Trained by Angela Turnwald


36 races – 8 wins, 11 2nds, 7 3rds                  $94,315

Group 1: 1st Spion Rose Cup; 1st Hatrick Classic; 2nd Wanganui Cup

Group 2: 2nd Angus Wright Memorial Invitation Stakes; 1st South Island Champs


Nature’s Gent winning the South Island Champs (pic Dave Robbie) and with his Spion Rose & Hatrick Classic trophies


Thrilling Talk

Owned by Gary Harding – Trained by Karen Walsh


31 races – 19 wins, 6 2nds, 3 3rds                  $98,182

Group 1: 1st NZ Futurity; 2nd NZ Derby; 3rd NZ Breeders’ Stakes

Group 2: 1st Waikato Classic; 1st North Island Champs

Regional features: 1st South Waikato Cup

1st= NZ Middle Distance Greyhound of the Year (on points)



Thrilling Talk following his NZ Futurity, Waikato Classic and South Waikato Cup wins


Trojan Hoarse

Owned by Craig Rendle – trained by Lisa Cole


57 races – 16 wins, 10 2nds, 14 3rds              $102,587

Group 1: 1st NZ Derby; 1st NZ Breeders’ Stakes; 3rd Hatrick Classic

Group 2: 3rd Waikato Classic; 3rd North Island Champs

3rd NZ Middle Distance Greyhound of the Year (on points)



Trojan Hoarse following his NZ Debry & NZ Breeders Stakes wins and his Waikato Classic third placing


By Peter Fenemor


Posted on 17 October 2019

< Back